ACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Disposal by Accelerate of KPMG Crescent and parkade 85 Empire Road Parktown
What this filing means
Accelerate is selling KPMG Crescent and its Parktown parkade to Rand Mutual Assurance for a gross R385m, with the net price pre-commission at R370m after a R15m capex commitment on the buyer's behalf. The sale sits just below the R393m independent valuation and is part of the ongoing restructuring, with most proceeds earmarked for debt reduction. The complication is the asset's economics: the circa R100.8m net operating income was inflated by a 12-year KPMG lease escalating at 8% annually, and KPMG has now agreed to exit on 30 April 2027.
Accelerate is selling an office building in Parktown for R385m, which is close to what an independent valuer said it was worth. That sounds fine, but the building's high rental income was driven by one tenant, KPMG, whose lease had been climbing 8% a year for 12 years. KPMG has a confirmed exit date of April 2027, so the buyer is acquiring an asset whose main income stream is about to reset. Whether the R385m price fully reflects that reset is not stated in this filing. Accelerate gets cash to pay down debt, which is sensible.
Bull case
- Disposal price of R385m sits within ~2% of the R393m independent external valuation by Mills Fitchet, limiting value leakage on exit.
- The KPMG tenant's exit has been pre-agreed for 30 April 2027, removing the binary risk of an unplanned vacancy cliff on the asset.
- Net proceeds of R370m (after R15m capex commitment) will be applied primarily to debt reduction as part of the ongoing restructuring programme.
Bear case
- The independent external valuation of KPMG Crescent was R393m as at 31 March 2026, against a gross sale consideration of R385m — a discount to the valuer's figure.
- KPMG has agreed an exit date of 30 April 2027 from its lease; the circa R100.8m NOI was driven by 8% annual escalations over 12 years, which unwind after exit.
- Net purchase price pre-commission falls to R370m after Accelerate's R15m capex commitment on behalf of the buyer, before the R10.5m broker commission.
- Missing evidence: the filing does not quantify the pro-forma impact on distributable earnings or NAV per share, nor which Wanooka liabilities are being settled before transfer.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A deleveraging step executed at a price just below the independent valuation, but the income reset risk is the dominant fact. The circa R100.8m NOI was inflated by a KPMG lease that escalated 8% annually over 12 years, and KPMG's exit is pre-agreed for 30 April 2027. The filing does not state how the buyer treated that exit in pricing, nor does it quantify the pro-forma impact on distributable earnings or NAV per share. The disclosed terms lean negative: the sale price sits below the valuer's figure and the primary income stream is pre-exiting. So what: the deleveraging direction is clear, but the market still needs the pro-forma earnings impact and the post-KPMG rental reversion to judge whether this is value-neutral or value-destructive.
The next results or a pro-forma disclosure will show how much distributable earnings fall once KPMG's inflated lease income is removed.
Evidence from the filing
The independent external valuation of KPMG Crescent was R393m as at 31 March 2026, against a gross sale consideration of R385m — a discount to the valuer's figure.
“31 March 2026 Valuation (net assets) (R): 393 000 000”
KPMG has agreed an exit date of 30 April 2027 from its lease; the circa R100.8m NOI was driven by 8% annual escalations over 12 years, which unwind after exit.
“this above market net income earned is off the back of a long-term lease with KPMG having escalated at 8% per annum over a 12-year period”
Net purchase price pre-commission falls to R370m after Accelerate's R15m capex commitment on behalf of the buyer, before the R10.5m broker commission.
“Accelerate has agreed to spend approximately R 15,000,000 on KPMG Crescent with regards to maintenance and capital improvement on behalf of RMA as part of the Transaction, resulting in a net purchase price pre-commission of R 370,000,000”
Missing evidence: the filing does not quantify the pro-forma impact on distributable earnings or NAV per share, nor which Wanooka liabilities are being settled before transfer.
“All other assets and liabilities in Wanooka will be transferred out/settled prior to transfer of the shares to RMA.”
The KPMG tenant's exit has been pre-agreed for 30 April 2027, removing the binary risk of an unplanned vacancy cliff on the asset.
“Wanooka and KPMG have agreed an exit date of 30 April 2027 with regard to the currently lease in place between Wanooka and KPMG in respect of KPMG Crescent”
Net proceeds of R370m (after R15m capex commitment) will be applied primarily to debt reduction as part of the ongoing restructuring programme.
“Accelerate intends to apply the majority of the proceeds of the disposal to the reduction of debt”
More on Accelerate Property Fund Limited
Related filings
More from APF
- ACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - B-BBEE annual compliance report
- ACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Disposal by Accelerate of Cedar Square Shopping Centre
- ACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Cancellation of S603326 - Disposal by Accelerate of Cedar Square Shopping Centre
- ACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Disposal by Accelerate of Cedar Square Shopping Centre
- ACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Results of AGM
Other Disposal
- MPTMPACT LIMITED - CATEGORY 2 TRANSACTION ANNOUNCEMENT RELATING TO THE DISPOSAL OF THE VERSAPAK PAARL PROPERTY
- APFACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Disposal by Accelerate of Cedar Square Shopping Centre
- APFACCELERATE PROPERTY FUND LIMITED - Disposal by Accelerate of Cedar Square Shopping Centre
- EXXEXXARO RESOURCES LIMITED - VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT: EXXARO EXERCISES ITS PRE-EMPTIVE RIGHT AND AGREES TO THE SUBSEQUENT DISPOSAL OF ITS ENTIRE INTEREST IN MORANBAH SOUTH PROJECT
- ACTAFROCENTRIC INVESTMENT CORPORATION LIMITED - Fulfilment of conditions precedent and implementation of the disposal of Activo and its subsidiaries