CLH Trading Statement Neutral

CITY LODGE HOTELS LIMITED - Cancellation of S602820 - Voluntary Trading Statement

City Lodge Hotels Limited
Full analysis

What this filing means

A voluntary trading statement that confirms the operating story, not a fresh earnings shock. City Lodge guides FY2026 adjusted HEPS to 39.1–42.9 cents, up 13%–24% on FY2025's 34.6 cents — the measure the group itself defines as day-to-day operating earnings.

City Lodge is telling the market its underlying day-to-day business did well — up 13% to 24% on its preferred measure. But the standard profit numbers most people look at are basically flat, and the improvement only shows up after stripping out currency swings and one-off items. So it is good news about the operating engine, but not the kind of clean, across-the-board profit jump that would change how investors see the company.

Bull case

  • Group-guided adjusted HEPS of 39.1–42.9 cents is expected to represent 13%–24% growth over FY2025's 34.6 cents — the measure the group itself defines as day-to-day operating earnings.
  • Adjusted HEPS is identified by the group as 'a reporting measure of earnings from day-to-day operations,' and it is this measure — not reported HEPS — that may exceed the 20% variance threshold triggering this voluntary statement.
  • Management explicitly characterises FY2026 financial results as 'underpinned by strong performance' versus FY2025.

Bear case

  • Basic EPS guidance of 36.3–39.8 cents vs FY2025's 38.3 cents means statutory EPS could be DOWN by as much as 5%, undercutting the strong-performance narrative.
  • Diluted HEPS is guided to 32.3–35.4 cents vs FY2025's 33.1 cents, which would be essentially flat at the midpoint (~2% growth), so reported headline earnings are not materially up.
  • The 13%–24% adjusted HEPS growth depends on add-backs for unrealised FX swings and exceptional items 'not within normal day-to-day operations', yet the size and nature of these exclusions are not quantified.
View original SENS announcement

AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.

SENS-AI conclusion

The adjusted HEPS growth of 13%–24% is real and the group's own preferred measure of operating performance, but statutory EPS and HEPS are flat to slightly down, and the share had not moved meaningfully into the print. The market already had the interim results showing adjusted HEPS up 33% at the half, so the full-year trajectory was broadly known. The open question is whether the add-backs are defensible. So what: the operating engine is working, but the market still needs the full results on 10 September to see whether cash flow and the quality of the exclusions back the adjusted number.

The full-year results on 10 September are where the market will test whether the adjusted HEPS growth is backed by operating cash flow and defensible add-backs.

Evidence from the filing

  • Group-guided adjusted HEPS of 39.1–42.9 cents is expected to represent 13%–24% growth over FY2025's 34.6 cents — the measure the group itself defines as day-to-day operating earnings.

    “Adjusted HEPS(cents)* 39.1 – 42.9 34.6 13% - 24%”
  • Adjusted HEPS is identified by the group as 'a reporting measure of earnings from day-to-day operations,' and it is this measure — not reported HEPS — that may exceed the 20% variance threshold triggering this voluntary statement.

    “basic EPS and HEPS are not expected to vary by more than 20% this year, adjusted HEPS, which is used by the group as a reporting measure of earnings from day-to-day operations, may exceed a 20% variance”
  • Basic EPS guidance of 36.3–39.8 cents vs FY2025's 38.3 cents means statutory EPS could be DOWN by as much as 5%, undercutting the strong-performance narrative.

    “Diluted basic earnings per share ("EPS") (cents) 36.3 – 39.8 38.3 (5%) – 4%”
  • Diluted HEPS is guided to 32.3–35.4 cents vs FY2025's 33.1 cents, which would be essentially flat at the midpoint (~2% growth), so reported headline earnings are not materially up.

    “Diluted headline earnings per share ("HEPS") (cents) 32.3 – 35.4 33.1 (3%) – 7%”
Category
Trading Statement
Event posture
Constructive
Published
Sep 7, 2026

More on City Lodge Hotels Limited

Related filings