CPI Trading Statement Bullish

CAPITEC LIMITED - Trading Statement

Capitec Bank Holdings Limited
Full analysis

What this filing means

A fresh number, not a repeat of old news. Capitec guides first-half headline earnings per share to between 8,215 and 8,354 cents, up 18% to 20% on the prior-year 6,962 cents, with EPS guided to a matching 18% to 20% rise. The growth is broad-based — clients, transaction volumes, lending and insurance all contributed — but the credit impairment charge grew and its quantum is not disclosed.

Capitec is telling the market it made meaningfully more profit in the first half than a year ago — roughly a fifth more. Because the share had been drifting sideways rather than running up, most investors had not already bet on this, so it genuinely matters. The one thing to keep an eye on is that the bank is setting aside more money for possible bad loans, and it has not said exactly how much more.

Bull case

  • Group HEPS guided at 8,215–8,354 cents, implying 18–20% growth over the prior-year 6,962 cents.
  • Group EPS guided at 8,174–8,312 cents, implying 18–20% growth over the prior-year 6,927 cents.
  • Personal Banking active clients surpassed 26 million, with higher average transaction values and solid card transaction growth.
  • Group operating expenses remained well controlled, led by technology-driven efficiencies that supported profitability and returns.
  • Credit Life and Funeral Cover insurance performed well, supported by lower claims ratios and growth in investment income.

Bear case

  • Both Personal and Business Banking forward-looking macroeconomic credit impairment charges grew due to the latest economic scenarios, with Business Banking also taking a higher upfront impairment charge from lending activity.
  • H1 HEPS guidance of 18-20% trails FY25 actual HEPS growth of 23% (14,606 vs 11,912 cents) and FY24's 30%, signalling earnings deceleration despite the cost-control narrative.
  • Period featured elevated inflation and a repo rate rise, with economic conditions placing pressure on client affordability and loan disbursements.
  • Credit impairment charges grew across both Personal and Business Banking segments but the quantum is not disclosed, leaving normalisation risk to be assessed only at full results.
  • The filing provides no segmental profitability breakdown between Personal and Business Banking, leaving margin drivers and impairment absorption unclear.
View original SENS announcement

AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.

SENS-AI conclusion

A genuine positive surprise: Capitec guides H1 HEPS growth of 18% to 20% on broad-based revenue expansion and tight cost control, and the share had not run up into the print (a 20-day move of roughly -3.6%). The growth rate does decelerate from FY25's 23% and FY24's 30%, and the credit impairment charge grew without a disclosed quantum — real caveats, but they qualify rather than erase the operating signal. So what: the direction is constructive, but the market still needs the full results on 30 September to see whether the impairment build is contained and whether cash generation backs the earnings.

The 30 September results are where the market will test the impairment quantum, segmental margins and cash-flow quality behind the guided HEPS growth.

Evidence from the filing

  • Group HEPS guided at 8,215–8,354 cents, implying 18–20% growth over the prior-year 6,962 cents.

    “group headline earnings per share are expected to be between 8 215 cents and 8 354 cents, representing an increase of between 18% and 20% compared to the 6 962 cents per share for the comparative six months ended 31 August 2025.”
  • Group EPS guided at 8,174–8,312 cents, implying 18–20% growth over the prior-year 6,927 cents.

    “group earnings per share are expected to be between 8 174 cents and 8 312 cents, representing an increase of between 18% and 20% compared to the 6 927 cents per share for the comparative six months ended 31 August 2025.”
  • Personal Banking active clients surpassed 26 million, with higher average transaction values and solid card transaction growth.

    “Personal Banking clients grew to more than 26 million”
  • Group operating expenses remained well controlled, led by technology-driven efficiencies that supported profitability and returns.

    “Business lending activity resulted in a higher upfront credit impairment charge and the forward-looking macroeconomic credit impairment charge also increased, similar to the Personal Bank”
  • Credit Life and Funeral Cover insurance performed well, supported by lower claims ratios and growth in investment income.

    “forward-looking macroeconomic credit impairment charge grew due to the latest economic scenarios”
  • Period featured elevated inflation and a repo rate rise, with economic conditions placing pressure on client affordability and loan disbursements.

    “elevated inflation and an increase in the repo rate”
Category
Trading Statement
Event posture
Constructive
Published
Sep 10, 2026

More on Capitec Bank Holdings Limited

Related filings