ABSA BANK LIMITED - New Financial Instrument Listing: ASC416
What this filing means
Absa Bank has been granted a JSE listing for a new ZAR200m credit linked note, code ASC416, under its Master Structured Note Programme. The note carries a floating coupon, an issue price of 100%, and a maturity date of 29 October 2031, and ranks as unsubordinated unsecured debt. Total notes in issue, including this tranche, are approximately R95.6bn. The filing does not state whether this tranche changes Absa's funding strategy or credit standing.
Absa has had a new R200m credit linked note admitted to trading on the JSE, with an issue date of 29 October 2026. It pays a floating interest rate and matures in 2031. The notice sets out the note's terms — code, ISIN, nominal amount, issue price and status — and nothing more. It does not say what the money will be used for, what the coupon margin is, or what credit the note is linked to, so it tells you nothing new about how Absa is doing.
Bear case
- Missing evidence: the filing does not state the coupon margin, all-in rate or the referenced-credit terms of the credit linked note.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A listing notice, not a signal. The note is a ZAR200m floating-rate credit linked tranche under an existing R120bn structured note programme, taking total notes in issue to about R95.6bn including this tranche. The filing discloses the principal note terms but does not quantify any effect on Absa's funding cost, capital or credit quality, and it gives no coupon margin or referenced-credit detail. So what: the next thing that would actually matter is a filing that shows the programme being enlarged or priced on materially different terms, not another tranche admission.
The programme's total notes in issue is where a genuine shift in Absa's wholesale funding appetite would show up, rather than in any single tranche listing.
Evidence from the filing
The note is a small tranche under a much larger existing programme.
“Authorised Programme size R120,000,000,000.00”
The nominal amount is printed in a form that does not parse cleanly.
“Nominal Issued ZAR200,000,0000,00”
The coupon is floating, with no margin or all-in rate stated.
“Coupon Rate Indicator Floating”
The note ranks as ordinary unsecured bank debt.
“Status of Notes Unsubordinated Unsecured”
The instrument is a credit linked note, so its payoff depends on a referenced credit.
“Instrument Type Credit Linked Note”
The listing is granted under an existing programme memorandum.
“The JSE Limited has granted financial instrument listing to the ABSA BANK LIMITED “ASC416” note under its Master”
Related filings
Other Debt Notice
- THE STANDARD BANK OF SOUTH AFRICA LIMITED - Notification of Interest Amounts
- WOOLWORTHS HOLDINGS LIMITED - Listing of new financial instruments
- BNP PARIBAS ISSUANCE B.V. - ZA412 Coupon Payment for ZAR 50,000,000 Share Securities due 7 November 2029
- ABSA BANK LIMITED - Interest Payment Notification
- NEDBANK LIMITED - BINBK - Interest Payment and Capital Redemption Notifications