SENS-AI
Results Bearish

GOLDRUSH HOLDINGS LIMITED - Audited Consolidated Annual Financial Results for the year ended 31 March 2026 and BBBEE Annual Compliance Report

Full analysis

What this filing means

Goldrush swung from a R243m operating profit to a R425m operating loss on flat R1.9bn revenue, with HEPS collapsing 62% to 54.47c from 141.91c. The clean audit opinion keeps the figures credible, but a basic loss of 715.55c per share against positive HEPS points to very large once-off charges hidden inside the swing. No dividend was declared, matching the prior year. The market gets a clean read on a bad result — but a partial one, given the short-form summary does not show what drove the margin collapse.

A shop selling the same amount as last year but somehow ending up R425m worse off instead of R243m in profit — that is Goldrush's year. Revenue held flat at R1.9bn, but profit collapsed, with HEPS down 62%. The basic loss per share is far worse than HEPS, hinting at large one-time charges like impairments sitting inside the swing. The clean audit opinion confirms the numbers are real, but the short summary leaves the cost breakdown for the full report.

Bull case

  • Group revenue held flat at R1.9bn year-on-year, signalling top-line resilience despite the operating swing.
  • Forvis Mazars issued an unmodified audit opinion, validating the financial statements with no qualifications or going-concern flag.

Bear case

  • Operating result swung from a R243m profit to a R425m loss on flat R1.9bn revenue — a R668m deterioration that signals severe margin compression rather than a demand problem.
  • HEPS collapsed 62% to 54.47c from 141.91c, confirming the profitability decline is not confined to non-recurring items.
  • Basic loss of 715.55c per share against HEPS of 54.47c implies very large once-off charges or impairments whose composition, size and recurrence risk the short-form summary does not disclose.
  • Missing evidence: cash flow, net debt, segment performance and capex are absent from the short-form, leaving the balance-sheet and liquidity impact of the R425m operating loss unverified.
  • Red flag (heps_vs_eps): HEPS of 54.47c vs basic LPS of 715.55c represents a 770c per share gap. The filing does not disclose the specific items causing this divergence (impairments, fair-value losses, capital item recycling, etc.), but the magnitude is extreme. HEPS is positive while EPS is deeply negative, indicating material excluded items. Sentiment is anchored on HEPS per Rule 10, but the undisclosed nature of the gap degrades quality [A3, explicit]
View original SENS announcement

AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.

SENS-AI conclusion

The operating swing from R243m profit to R425m loss on flat revenue is the story — a R668m deterioration driven by margin compression, not weak demand. The 62% HEPS collapse confirms the damage is core, not confined to once-offs. But a basic loss of 715.55c against 54.47c HEPS flags large non-headline items the short-form does not itemise. An unmodified audit keeps the numbers defensible. Without segment, cash-flow or net-debt detail, the market cannot yet judge cyclical pain from structural reset. So what: the audited numbers are in, but the full IAR is where the market will see what drove the margin contraction and whether any of it reverses. Missing evidence: No cash flow statement, net debt, or liquidity metrics disclosed in short-form; No explanation for operating loss or cost/margin drivers provided; No forward guidance, outlook, or management commentary on recovery path; No prior trading statement to assess surprise vs market expectations; No disclosure of specific items reconciling HEPS to basic LPS; No segmental or operational breakdown of revenue/profitability

The full integrated annual report is where the segment, cost and cash-flow detail behind the R425m operating loss will be disclosed.

Evidence from the filing

  • Group revenue held flat at R1.9bn year-on-year, signalling top-line resilience despite the operating swing.

    “Revenue of R1.9 billion for the Group (FY2025: R1.9 billion).”
  • Forvis Mazars issued an unmodified audit opinion, validating the financial statements with no qualifications or going-concern flag.

    “Forvis Mazars has issued an unmodified audit opinion on the audited financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2026.”
  • Operating result swung from a R243m profit to a R425m loss on flat R1.9bn revenue — a R668m deterioration that signals severe margin compression rather than a demand problem.

    “Operating Loss of R425 million for the Group (FY2025: Operating Profit of R243 million).”
  • HEPS collapsed 62% to 54.47c from 141.91c, confirming the profitability decline is not confined to non-recurring items.

    “Headline earnings per share of 54.47 cents (FY2025: 141.91 cents) and basic loss per share of 715.55 cents (FY2025: basic earnings per share of 137.34 cents) for both ordinary and preference shares of the Group.”
  • Basic loss of 715.55c per share against HEPS of 54.47c implies very large once-off charges or impairments whose composition, size and recurrence risk the short-form summary does not disclose.

    “Headline earnings per share of 54.47 cents (FY2025: 141.91 cents) and basic loss per share of 715.55 cents (FY2025: basic earnings per share of 137.34 cents) for both ordinary and preference shares of the Group.”
  • Missing evidence: cash flow, net debt, segment performance and capex are absent from the short-form, leaving the balance-sheet and liquidity impact of the R425m operating loss unverified.

    “Operating Loss of R425 million for the Group (FY2025: Operating Profit of R243 million).”
Category
Results
Event posture
No Edge
Published
Jun 29, 2026

Related filings