MTU Results Bearish

MANTENGU LIMITED - Amended Short Form Announcement: Audited Results for the Year Ended 28 February 2026

Mantengu Limited
Full analysis

What this filing means

A deep loss with a qualified audit and a going-concern warning — the headline numbers are the least contested part of this filing. Mantengu swung to a R315.2m loss from a R303.3m profit, driven by the Sublime shutdown (R168m), chrome losses including sabotage at Langpan (R115m), Blue Ridge (R26m) and corporate costs (R6m). The auditor qualified the accounts on a disputed R570m B-BBEE liability, inventory write-downs and missing ECL allowances, and flagged material uncertainty over going concern. The share had already sold off 9.6% into the print, so much of the damage was anticipated, but the unresolved board-auditor disputes add a fresh layer of risk.

Mantengu lost R315 million this year, a complete reversal from last year's profit. The company's silicon carbide plant is shut down, its chrome mine was sabotaged, and its auditor has serious doubts about whether the company can keep going. The auditor and the board are publicly arguing over big numbers — the board says a R570 million liability is fictitious, the auditor says it must be recorded. For a normal investor, the key point is that the company's own auditor is not confident it can survive, and the two sides cannot agree on the accounts.

Bull case

  • Disposal of Blue Ridge for R50m removes the loss-making subsidiary, ending its ongoing cash drain once completed.
  • Section 189 process expected to complete in early August 2026 will cut Sublime's monthly costs by ~80%, addressing the largest FY2026 loss segment.
  • New HMS Bergbau offtake replaces RWE, ending the prior counterparty's unilateral below-market pricing power on chrome sales.
  • Board's decision to keep Sublime offline avoided an incremental R7m/month Eskom energy charge, showing cost discipline over continuing to bleed cash.

Bear case

  • Group reported R315m loss with current liabilities exceeding current assets by R283m, triggering a material going concern uncertainty note from the auditor.
  • Auditor issued a qualified 'except for' opinion spanning B-BBEE liability, inventory and ECL matters, with the board publicly disputing the auditor's conclusions.
  • Auditor flagged that R570m Blue Ridge B-BBEE liability was incorrectly eliminated against equity; the dispute is unresolved and no quantum is agreed.
  • Cash vs profit: R315.2m loss includes significant non-cash items (R76m at Sublime) but cash burn is ongoing: Sublime paid full salaries and operational costs for 10+ months post-shutdown, Blue Ridge funded without income, and chrome operations consumed cash despite flooding and sabotage. Going concern note confirms liquidity crisis.
  • Risk: Board-auditor divergence on three material items: R570m liability, R84.2m+ inventory write-downs, and ECL allowances. Board uses strong language ('nonsensical', 'derelict', 'fictitious') indicating fundamental disagreement on financial statement reliability.
View original SENS announcement

AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.

SENS-AI conclusion

A genuinely bad result, but not a fresh shock: the share had already fallen 9.6% into the print and prior trading statements had flagged the Sublime shutdown and chrome losses. The new information is the qualified audit opinion and the going-concern warning, which the market had not fully priced. The board's public dispute with the auditor over R570m, inventory and ECLs means the accounts carry unresolved risk that could crystallise either way. The FY2027 cost cuts and asset disposals are real, but they are plans, not results. So what: the direction is confirmed negative, but the market still needs the Section 189 outcome, the Blue Ridge disposal completion and a resolution of the audit disputes to see whether the going-concern warning is lifted. Missing evidence: No cash flow statement or balance sheet detail provided in short-form announcement; cash position and debt maturity profile not disclosed; No segment revenue or production volume data for chrome or PGM operations; cannot assess operating trend independent of one-offs; No quantified FY2027 guidance or production targets; 'ramp up' and 'monetise' are qualitative aspirations; Averi Finance acquisition terms not disclosed: shares to be issued, assets to be acquired, accretion/dilution unknown; No detail on chrome or PGM commodity price assumptions in inventory NRV disputes; spot price sensitivity unclear; No prior trading statement quantified range for FY2026, limiting surprise-vs-expectations calibration

The Section 189 completion and Blue Ridge disposal are where the market will test whether the R38m and R24m annual cost savings actually materialise and ease the going-concern pressure.

Evidence from the filing

  • Disposal of Blue Ridge for R50m removes the loss-making subsidiary, ending its ongoing cash drain once completed.

    “The Board announced on 12 June 2026 that, it entered into advanced negotiations to dispose of Blue Ridge for a purchase consideration of R50 million.”
  • Section 189 process expected to complete in early August 2026 will cut Sublime's monthly costs by ~80%, addressing the largest FY2026 loss segment.

    “The Board announced on 14 May 2026 that it commenced a consultation process with Sublime employees and trade union in terms of Section 189 of the Labour Relations Act 66 of 1995. This process is expected to be completed in early August 2026.”
  • New HMS Bergbau offtake replaces RWE, ending the prior counterparty's unilateral below-market pricing power on chrome sales.

    “Langpan entered into new offtake and funding agreements with HMS Bergbau Africa (Pty) Ltd ("HMSBA") to replace RWE as its chrome offtaker.”
  • Board's decision to keep Sublime offline avoided an incremental R7m/month Eskom energy charge, showing cost discipline over continuing to bleed cash.

    “Sublime Technologies shut down in May 2025 for routine maintenance. The Board took the decision not to resume production in July 2025 after completion of this maintenance. The rationale for this was that Sublime would have incurred an additional energy charge of R7 million per month because its tariff agreement with Eskom expired on 31 March 2025.”
  • Group reported R315m loss with current liabilities exceeding current assets by R283m, triggering a material going concern uncertainty note from the auditor.

    “Although the group's total assets exceed total liabilities by R230 million, the group's current liabilities exceed current assets by R283 million. The Group incurred a loss of R315 million for the year ended 28 February 2026. As stated in Note 34, these events or conditions indicate that a material uncertainty exists that may cast significant doubt on the group's and company's ability to continue as a going concern.”
  • Auditor issued a qualified 'except for' opinion spanning B-BBEE liability, inventory and ECL matters, with the board publicly disputing the auditor's conclusions.

    “The 2026 AFS have been audited by the Company's auditor, HLB CMA (South Africa) Inc., who expressed a qualified "except for" opinion thereon.”
  • Auditor flagged that R570m Blue Ridge B-BBEE liability was incorrectly eliminated against equity; the dispute is unresolved and no quantum is agreed.

    “The liability, although recognised in Blue Ridge Platinum (Proprietary) Limited's separate accounting records, was incorrectly eliminated against equity in the Group financial statements, of which 30% has not been transferred out, and the loss recognised. IFRS 9 also requires a financial liability to be recognised at its fair value on day one. Sufficient reliable evidence was not available to quantify the fair value of the financial liability by the Group to the B-BBEE parties, and alternative audit procedures did not provide us with sufficient appropriate audit evidence to conclude in this regard.”
  • Auditor flagged a material ECL allowance was not recognised on intercompany loans to loss-making Langpan, Meerust and Blue Ridge subsidiaries under IFRS 9.

    “Management has not recognised an expected credit loss allowance on intercompany loans receivable as required by IFRS 9. Based on the financial condition, liquidity constraints, and repayment uncertainty of certain counterparties (specifically, Langpan Mining, Meerust Chrome and Blue Ridge), indicators of impairment exist and a material ECL allowance is required.”
Category
Results
Event posture
Bearish Continuation
Published
Jun 25, 2026

More on Mantengu Limited

Related filings