PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment Act ("the Act"): annual compliance report
What this filing means
Pick n Pay has published its annual B-BBEE compliance report under section 13G(2) of the Act, with the full document now on the company's investor-governance webpage. This SENS release is purely procedural — required by JSE Listings Requirements paragraph 12.7(g) — and contains no scorecard rating, ownership percentages or management-control figures. Investors looking for the substantive outcome must follow the link themselves; the SENS filing carries no operational, financial or strategic information.
Pick n Pay is telling the JSE it has filed its yearly B-BBEE paperwork, as South African companies are required to do. The actual scores — black ownership, skills development and so on — sit in a separate document on the company website. Nothing in this release changes anything about the business; it is a compliance formality, and the news value is essentially zero for an investor watching the share.
Bear case
- The SENS release announces only that a B-BBEE compliance report has been posted to the company website, withholding the actual scorecard rating, ownership percentages, and management control points — the substantive compliance outcome is not disclosed in this filing.
- The announcement is purely procedural under JSE Listings Requirements paragraph 12.7(g), delivering no operational, financial, or strategic information — turnaround progress, debt, and cash flow remain undisclosed alongside this filing.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
This is a routine procedural notice, not a tradable event. The SENS release says only that Pick n Pay's annual B-BBEE compliance report has been published on the company website — no scorecard rating, ownership percentages or management-control figures appear in the release itself. The negative CAR-20 and beaten-down share reflect the operating story, not this filing. There is nothing here to act on, and no reason for it to change anyone's view. So what: investors who want the actual B-BBEE standing must read the report on the company website; everyone else can move on.
Evidence from the filing
The SENS release announces only that a B-BBEE compliance report has been posted to the company website, withholding the actual scorecard rating, ownership percentages, and management control points — the substantive compliance outcome is not disclosed in this filing.
“the Company's annual compliance report in terms of section 13G(2) of the Act has been published and is available on the Company's website at www.picknpayinvestor.co.za/governance.php”
The announcement is purely procedural under JSE Listings Requirements paragraph 12.7(g), delivering no operational, financial, or strategic information — turnaround progress, debt, and cash flow remain undisclosed alongside this filing.
“In accordance with paragraph 12.7 (g) and Appendix 1 to Section 6 of the JSE Listings Requirements”
More on Pick n Pay Stores Limited
Related filings
More from PIK
- PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Changes to the board and board committees
- PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Condensed consolidated interim financial results for the 26 weeks ended 30 August 2026 ("H1 FY27")
- PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Trading Statement for the 26 weeks ended 30 August 2026 and conclusion of store labour agreement
- PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Appointment of Chief Executive Officer-designate
- PICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Acceptance of share awards by directors and company secretary
Other BEE Transaction
- APNASPEN PHARMACARE HOLDINGS LIMITED - Availability of Integrated Reporting Suite, B-BBEE Verification Certificate and Further Notice of Annual General Meeting
- PBTPBT HOLDINGS LIMITED - Transaction to Introduce a Long-Term B-BBEE Investor in the PBT Group via PBT's Wholly Owned Subsidiary, PBT Innovation Proprietary Limited, Specific Repurchases and Directors' Dealings
- ISAISA HOLDINGS LIMITED - Availability of B-BBEE Annual Compliance Report
- TKGTELKOM SA SOC LIMITED - Distribution of the Integrated Report, Notice of AGM and publication of the B-BBEE Annual Compliance Report
- CLHCITY LODGE HOTELS LIMITED - Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment Annual Compliance Report