QUILTER PLC - Transactions in own shares
What this filing means
Quilter continues its steady buyback programme, retiring 36.6m shares at roughly £68m total since 4 March, with cancellation rather than treasury holding confirmed. The constructive case for EPS accretion and capital return is real, but the share had already run up materially (CAR-20 of +15.6%) and sits near its 52-week high — management is buying back stock at elevated valuations, which is a meaningful caveat on the quality of the capital-return signal. The programme is ongoing and consistent with prior disclosures, so this filing adds execution data rather than a new directional thesis.
Quilter has been buying its own shares steadily since March — about 36.6 million of them across London and Johannesburg, then cancelling them so they never come back into circulation. That is positive for earnings per share because fewer shares exist. However, the share had already risen by about 15.6% before this announcement, and it is near its highest price in a year — so management is paying elevated prices to shrink the share count, which is a less compelling capital-return signal than buying at lows.
Bull case
- Every repurchased share will be cancelled rather than held in treasury, delivering direct, durable EPS accretion rather than a deferred overhang.
- A sustained programme since 4 March 2026 has retired 28,964,746 LSE shares at a cumulative £53,848,404.02, evidencing disciplined, ongoing capital return.
- Parallel JSE activity — 7,613,370 shares repurchased for ZAR 312,637,428.98 (≈£14,180,472.10) — shows capital return is inclusive of rand-based holders, not sterling-only.
- Recent LSE average prices of £2.0072–£2.0601 sit near the 52-week high (price_position_52w 0.9535), signalling management is willing to deploy cash at elevated valuations.
Bear case
- Despite £53.85m in cumulative LSE repurchases since 4 March 2026, the filing discloses no programme authorisation, remaining capacity, or capital position — investors cannot judge whether the buyback cannibalises balance sheet flexibility or substitutes for organic deployment.
- Mandatory cancellation leaves the company with 1,367,527,382 ordinary shares in issue and zero treasury, permanently destroying reissuance optionality for M&A, employee compensation, or strategic issuance.
- JSE leg alone consumes ~£14.18m sterling equivalent, and the dual-venue programme commits material capital without any disclosure of cash flow coverage, dividend cover, or Solvency II headroom within the filing.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A constructive, durable capital-return mechanism — cancellation rather than treasury holding means each repurchase permanently reduces the share count — and the sustained cadence since March is credible evidence of management conviction. The bull case on EPS accretion is real and worth acknowledging. The offsetting caution is the pricing environment: the share sits near its 52-week high (price_position_52w 0.9535) and the CAR-20 into the print was strongly positive at +15.6%, meaning the market had already incorporated the good news. A buyback at elevated valuations is mechanically positive for EPS but a less clear signal of value creation than one executed at trough prices. The filing does not disclose programme capacity, cash position, or Solvency II headroom — the bear case is legitimate on the missing-evidence front. So what: the direction is constructive, but the market has largely already celebrated it, and the near-high pricing is a caveat the EPS accretion headline should not obscure. Missing evidence: Total shareholder authority for buyback programme not stated; Percentage of authority utilised not disclosed; No explicit link between buyback pace and management's view of intrinsic value; No NAV or embedded value reference for price discipline assessment; Sterling/ZAR cross-rate for JSE purchases not explicitly stated (only approximate sterling equivalent given)
The annual results are where the market will test whether the repurchase programme was funded from surplus capital or at the expense of the dividend and organic investment.
Evidence from the filing
Every repurchased share will be cancelled rather than held in treasury, delivering direct, durable EPS accretion rather than a deferred overhang.
“The Company intends to cancel the purchased shares.”
A sustained programme since 4 March 2026 has retired 28,964,746 LSE shares at a cumulative £53,848,404.02, evidencing disciplined, ongoing capital return.
“Since 04 March 2026, the Company has purchased 28,964,746 shares on the London Stock Exchange at a cost-(including dealing and associated costs) of £ 53,848,404.02.”
Parallel JSE activity — 7,613,370 shares repurchased for ZAR 312,637,428.98 (≈£14,180,472.10) — shows capital return is inclusive of rand-based holders, not sterling-only.
“Since 04 March 2026, the Company has purchased 7,613,370 shares on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange at a cost-(including dealing and associated costs) of ZAR 312,637,428.98.”
Mandatory cancellation leaves the company with 1,367,527,382 ordinary shares in issue and zero treasury, permanently destroying reissuance optionality for M&A, employee compensation, or strategic issuance.
“Following the above transactions, the Company has 1,367,527,382 ordinary shares in issue and holds no ordinary shares in treasury.”
JSE leg alone consumes ~£14.18m sterling equivalent, and the dual-venue programme commits material capital without any disclosure of cash flow coverage, dividend cover, or Solvency II headroom within the filing.
“Approximate sterling equivalent £14,180,472.10.”
More on Quilter plc
Related filings
More from QLT
Other Share Repurchase
- GCTGREENCOAT RENEWABLES PLC - Transaction in Own Shares
- RNIREINET INVESTMENTS S.C.A - Reinet Investments S.C.A. announces completion of Share Buyback Programme
- GCTGREENCOAT RENEWABLES PLC - Transaction in Own Shares
- NPNNASPERS LIMITED - Update on Repurchase Programme and Claim It Campaign
- PRXPROSUS N.V - Update on Repurchase Programme