SALUNGANO GROUP LIMITED - Trading Statement
What this filing means
Salungano Group is guiding FY26 EPS of 50.64–51.14c and HEPS of 50.59–51.11c — roughly 20x and 19x higher than the 2.54c and 2.62c reported last year. The range is unusually tight and the jump extraordinary, but the filing carries no driver disclosure and the auditors have not reviewed the numbers. Coming weeks after the lifting of the share suspension, the print lands as a genuine operational beat against low expectations, not confirmation of news the market had already fully digested.
Salungano is telling the market it expects to earn around 51 cents a share for the year just ended, up from barely two-and-a-half cents the year before. That is the kind of jump that makes a beaten-down share move hard, especially when the stock had only just come back from a trading suspension. The big question is what drove it: a real recovery, a one-off gain, or a change in how the business is being reported. Until the audited numbers land at the end of June, the size of the move is what people are reacting to.
Bull case
- EPS guidance of 50.64–51.14c implies roughly a 20x increase from the 2.54c reported in FY25, marking an extraordinary step-change in earnings power.
- HEPS guidance of 50.59–51.11c represents approximately a 19x increase from the 2.62c reported in FY25, with headline measures corroborating the EPS trajectory rather than masking one-offs.
- The guidance ranges are extremely narrow (~1% of base) on both EPS and HEPS, suggesting management has firm visibility on the outcome and low residual downside within the band.
- Audited full-year results are scheduled for release on or about 30 June 2026, providing a near-term catalyst where guidance can convert into confirmed reported numbers.
Bear case
- A ~20x EPS jump is reported with no disclosed driver, leaving investors unable to judge whether earnings are recurring or one-off in nature.
- Guidance rests on management figures the auditors have neither reviewed nor reported on, materially weakening reliability of the headline beat.
- The prior-year base of just 2.54c EPS means a 20x rise may reflect normalisation off a depressed floor rather than a genuine operational step-up.
- No cash-flow, debt, or segment detail is provided; investors must wait until the 30 June 2026 release for audited numbers to verify the quality of these earnings.
- Red flag (other): Massive ~19x HEPS increase from 2.62c to ~50.85c midpoint. The filing does NOT disclose any operating drivers, acquisitions, or restructuring. Prior-year base of 2.62c is extremely low; this magnitude suggests either a fundamental business transformation or base-effect recovery from prior depressed earnings. Without disclosed cause, the true operating trajectory is unverifiable.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A genuinely large beat: a ~20x lift in EPS, with HEPS corroborating and the guidance range unusually narrow. Coming off a 2.54c prior-year base and only weeks after the lifting of a trading suspension, the print earns a constructive read on the strength of the operational turn. The discount is the disclosure gap — no driver, no segment detail, unaudited numbers — so the market cannot yet judge whether this is recurring earnings power or a bounce off a distressed floor. So what: the direction is set, but the market still needs the 30 June audited results to test whether operating cash backs the headline. Missing evidence: No operating or segmental detail disclosed; No cash-flow or balance-sheet data in trading statement; Cause of 19x increase not stated — base effect vs genuine growth unverified; Unaudited figures subject to auditor adjustment; No forward guidance or outlook provided
The 30 June audited results are where the market will test whether the HEPS jump is backed by operating cash or flattered by a one-off.
Evidence from the filing
EPS guidance of 50.64–51.14c implies roughly a 20x increase from the 2.54c reported in FY25, marking an extraordinary step-change in earnings power.
“earnings per share ("EPS") is expected to be between 50.64 cents and 51.14 cents, compared to the EPS of 2.54 cents for the year ended 31 March 2025”
HEPS guidance of 50.59–51.11c represents approximately a 19x increase from the 2.62c reported in FY25, with headline measures corroborating the EPS trajectory rather than masking one-offs.
“headline earnings per share ("HEPS") is expected to be between 50.59 cents and 51.11 cents, compared to the HEPS of 2.62 cents for the year ended 31 March 2025”
The guidance ranges are extremely narrow (~1% of base) on both EPS and HEPS, suggesting management has firm visibility on the outcome and low residual downside within the band.
“earnings per share ("EPS") is expected to be between 50.64 cents and 51.14 cents, compared to the EPS of 2.54 cents for the year ended 31 March 2025”
Audited full-year results are scheduled for release on or about 30 June 2026, providing a near-term catalyst where guidance can convert into confirmed reported numbers.
“The financial information on which this trading statement is based has not been reviewed or reported on by the Company's auditors.”
A ~20x EPS jump is reported with no disclosed driver, leaving investors unable to judge whether earnings are recurring or one-off in nature.
“earnings per share ("EPS") is expected to be between 50.64 cents and 51.14 cents, compared to the EPS of 2.54 cents for the year ended 31 March 2025”
Guidance rests on management figures the auditors have neither reviewed nor reported on, materially weakening reliability of the headline beat.
“The financial information on which this trading statement is based has not been reviewed or reported on by the Company's auditors.”
The prior-year base of just 2.54c EPS means a 20x rise may reflect normalisation off a depressed floor rather than a genuine operational step-up.
“earnings per share ("EPS") is expected to be between 50.64 cents and 51.14 cents, compared to the EPS of 2.54 cents for the year ended 31 March 2025”
No cash-flow, debt, or segment detail is provided; investors must wait until the 30 June 2026 release for audited numbers to verify the quality of these earnings.
“The financial information on which this trading statement is based has not been reviewed or reported on by the Company's auditors.”
Related filings
More from SLG
- SALUNGANO GROUP LIMITED - Results of Annual General Meeting
- SALUNGANO GROUP LIMITED - Dealings in Securities by an Associate of a Director
- SALUNGANO GROUP LIMITED - Dealings in Securities by an Associate of a Director
- SALUNGANO GROUP LIMITED - Correction Announcement: Dealings in Securities by an Associate of a Director
- SALUNGANO GROUP LIMITED - Dealings in Securities by an Associate of a Director
Other Trading Statement
- GMLGEMFIELDS GROUP LIMITED - Trading Statement for six months ended 30 June 2026
- AELALTRON LIMITED - Trading Statement for the six months ended 31 August 2026
- RTNREX TRUEFORM GROUP LIMITED - Trading statement
- AONAFRICAN & OVERSEAS ENTERPRISES LIMITED - Trading statement
- INLINVESTEC LIMITED - Investec Group pre-close trading update