SUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - Retail Offer
What this filing means
Supermarket Income REIT has announced a UK retail share offer via RetailBook alongside an institutional placing — the proceeds fund the acquisition of three Sainsbury's and Tesco supermarkets plus a pipeline of six grocery assets. For South African investors the announcement is explicitly informational: the retail offer is not available in South Africa, and the offer size, price, and SA Placing terms are not disclosed here.
Supermarket Income REIT is raising money by selling new shares to UK retail investors through an online platform called RetailBook. The money will be used to buy more supermarket properties. However, this specific offer is only for UK investors — South Africans reading this on SENS are being told about it for information only, not because they can participate. The key question of how dilutive this is to existing SA holders cannot be answered from this filing alone.
Bear case
- The retail offer is not being made in South Africa — this SENS filing is informational only for SA-listed holders.
- The overall raise size, issue price, and SA Placing terms are not disclosed in this text, making the dilution impact on existing SA holders unknown.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
For SA-listed holders this is confirmation of a capital-raise programme already underway, not a fresh catalyst. The £118m supermarket acquisition and £98m pipeline are consistent with the company's stated strategy and were presumably expected given the concurrent institutional placing. The filing explicitly disclaims any offer into South Africa, making the SENS disclosure a notice about an event that does not directly involve SA investors. The new shares will not carry the fourth quarterly dividend, which is a standard dilution term. The size of the overall raise and the SA Placing terms are not in this text — those are the numbers that would matter to SA holders and they remain undisclosed here.
The institutional Placing filing is where SA investors will find the size, price, and any SA-holder participation terms that actually affect their position.
Evidence from the filing
Retail offer explicitly not made in South Africa.
“THE RETAIL BOOK OFFER IS ONLY MADE AVAILABLE TO RETAIL INVESTORS IN THE UNITED KINGDOM AND IS NOT BEING MADE INTO SOUTH AFRICA.”
New shares excluded from fourth quarterly dividend.
“The New Ordinary Shares issued pursuant to the Retail Offer will not carry the right to receive the fourth quarterly dividend of the financial year ending 30 June 2026.”
Overall raise terms not in this filing.
“The issue price for the New Ordinary Shares will be determined at the close of the bookbuilding process.”
Conditional on institutional placing completing.
“The Retail Offer will not be completed without the Placing also being completed.”
More on Supermarket Income REIT
Related filings
More from SRI
- SUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - Total Voting Rights
- SUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - PDMR notification
- SUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - Notice of full year results and investor meet Company presentation
- SUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - TR-1: Standard form for notification of major holdings
- SUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - TR-1: Standard form for notification of major holdings