VODACOM GROUP LIMITED - Update on the Acquisition of a Controlling Interest in Safaricom plc
What this filing means
A completed deal has just been thrown back into legal uncertainty. Vodacom confirms it closed its Safaricom acquisition on 30 June 2026, lifting its effective stake to 55%, but a High Court of Kenya judgment handed down on 15 September 2026 went against the transaction. Vodacom will appeal and seek a stay, which means the controlling stake it has already consolidated is now legally contested. The filing does not disclose the judgment's reasoning or the remedies sought, so the scope of any unwind risk is unquantified.
Vodacom bought enough of Safaricom to control it, and the deal actually closed in June. But a Kenyan court has now ruled against the purchase, and Vodacom is appealing. Until that appeal is resolved, Vodacom's control of Safaricom is not fully secure — and this notice does not tell investors what the court actually ordered, so the worst-case outcome is unknown.
Bull case
- The Acquisition was completed on 30 June 2026, giving Vodacom outright control of Safaricom.
- Both consideration legs were executed simultaneously: 15% from the Government of Kenya via a Nairobi Securities Exchange block trade and 5% from Vodafone International Holdings.
- Vodacom intends to lodge an appeal and apply for a stay of the judgment, contesting the High Court's decision.
Bear case
- The High Court of Kenya handed down judgment against the Acquisition on 15 September 2026, creating material post-completion legal risk to Vodacom's newly-lifted 55% stake.
- Vodacom must lodge an appeal and seek a stay — until resolved, the 55% effective shareholding in Safaricom remains legally contested.
- Filing does not disclose the judgment text or specific remedies sought by petitioners, so the scope of any court order is unquantified.
- No earnings accretion or dilution metric is disclosed in this notice, so the financial impact under the new litigation scenario cannot be assessed.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
The economics of the Safaricom acquisition were disclosed in December 2025 and the completion was announced in June 2026 — what is new here is a legal setback after the fact. The High Court judgment against the deal is a genuine negative development, but the filing gives no basis to size it: no judgment text, no remedies, no indication of whether the 55% stake could be unwound. That makes this a risk flag rather than a re-rating event. So what: the market still needs the judgment's substance and the appeal's prospects before it can price the litigation risk.
The appeal filing and any stay order will determine whether the 55% stake remains consolidated or faces unwind risk.
Evidence from the filing
The Acquisition was completed on 30 June 2026, giving Vodacom outright control of Safaricom.
“The Acquisition was completed on 30 June 2026, increasing Vodacom's effective shareholding in Safaricom to 55%”
Both consideration legs were executed simultaneously: 15% from the Government of Kenya via a Nairobi Securities Exchange block trade and 5% from Vodafone International Holdings.
“VKL acquired the Government of Kenya's 15% shareholding in Safaricom through a block trade on the Nairobi Securities Exchange on 30 June 2026”
Vodacom intends to lodge an appeal and apply for a stay of the judgment, contesting the High Court's decision.
“an appeal against the decision will be lodged with the Court of Appeal, as well as an application to stay the matter until an appeal is heard”
The High Court of Kenya handed down judgment against the Acquisition on 15 September 2026, creating material post-completion legal risk to Vodacom's newly-lifted 55% stake.
“The High Court of Kenya provided a judgment on a petition against the Acquisition, which judgement was handed down on 15 September 2026”
Filing does not disclose the judgment text or specific remedies sought by petitioners, so the scope of any court order is unquantified.
“The High Court of Kenya provided a judgment on a petition against the Acquisition, which judgement was handed down on 15 September 2026. Vodacom will review the judgment, and its implications.”
Both consideration legs were executed simultaneously: 15% from the Government of Kenya via a Nairobi Securities Exchange block trade and 5% from Vodafone International Holdings.
“Vodacom also acquired an effective 5% interest in Safaricom from Vodafone International Holdings B.V”
More on Vodacom Group Limited
Related filings
More from VOD
- VODACOM GROUP LIMITED - Change in directorate and composition of committees
- VODACOM GROUP LIMITED - Sale of vested conditional and forfeitable shares
- VODACOM GROUP LIMITED - Change in directorate and composition of committees
- VODACOM GROUP LIMITED - Sale of vested conditional and forfeitable shares
- VODACOM GROUP LIMITED - Sale of vested conditional and forfeitable shares
Other Acquisition
- OMNOMNIA HOLDINGS LIMITED - Joint announcement of the firm intention of Solar SA Investments Proprietary Limited to make an offer to acquire all of Omnias issued ordinary shares (other than treasury shares), the subsequent delisting of all Omnia shares and withdrawal of cautionary
- SRISUPERMARKET INCOME REIT PLC - Acquisition of six new assets
- NVSNOVUS HOLDINGS LIMITED - Announcement by Novus in respect of dealings in securities in accordance with the Companies Regulations, 2011
- NEDNEDBANK GROUP LIMITED - The Central Bank of Kenya approval received for Nedbank Groups Offer to Acquire C.66% of NCBA Group Plc
- SEASPEAR REIT LIMITED - Implementation of Acquisition of Watergate Centre