YORK TIMBER HOLDINGS LIMITED - Unaudited condensed consolidated interim financial results for the six months ended 31 December 2025
What this filing means
York Timber's H1 FY2026 result is a study in two different stories: adjusted EBITDA is guided at R47.5m, down R36.8m from the prior period (preliminary figures consistent with the 20 March trading statement), core operations swung to a 6.65 cent loss — but the market already knew the EBITDA number from the 20 March trading statement. The genuine positive in this print is operating cash flow of R104.5m, up 128.7% from R45.7m and comfortably inside the 127–132% guidance band. Whether that cash story is repeatable or a one-off working capital release is the live question the market will need answered.
York is making much less profit from its actual timber business than it did a year ago — the EBITDA and core earnings both deteriorated sharply. But its cash position from operations improved significantly, partly because it collected money it was owed faster. The market had already absorbed a large portion of the bad news before this result, so the key question is whether the cash improvement is sustainable or just a timing benefit that reverses in the second half.
Bull case
- Cash generated from operations of R104.5m is a 128.7% increase from R45.7m, landing inside the 127–132% guidance band as updated on 20 March 2026.
- Adjusted EBITDA of R47.5m sits inside the 41–46% guided decline band — both trading-statement anchors met.
Bear case
- Adjusted EBITDA is guided at R47.5m, down R36.8m from the prior period, reflecting margin compression consistent with preliminary guidance.
- Core EPS deteriorated from a 0.09c loss to a 6.65c loss, with the headline EPS halving partly cushioned by biological asset fair value gains rather than reflecting underlying operational strength.
- EPS more than halved to 15.13c with no dividend declared, leaving shareholders with no return support on a restated prior period base.
- Net debt stands at R560m; the leverage ratio may have risen due to the EBITDA collapse, though the filing does not disclose covenant headroom or refinancing schedule.
- The condensed announcement does not provide segment-level EBITDA detail, limiting visibility into which operations drove the decline.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A confirmation print dressed as an interim result: the market had the EBITDA and operating cash guidance for six days, so the absolute deterioration — core EPS swinging from a 0.09c loss to a 6.65c loss, net debt at R560m against a collapsed EBITDA base — is material but pre-signalled. The biological asset uplift is doing visible work inside the HEPS line, which means the underlying operational quality is weaker than the headline EPS halving implies. The preliminary figures align with guidance. So what: the guidance is confirmed, but the market still needs the segment breakdown and working capital bridge to establish whether the cash generation is durable or a one-off release. Missing evidence: No segment breakdown (forestry vs processing vs plywood) to identify profit/loss drivers; No forward guidance or trading statement for H2 FY2026 provided; No explanation for 3% revenue decline — volume or price or mix not disclosed; Biological asset fair value adjustment quantum not separately stated in this short-form announcement; No cash flow statement detail — working capital components not broken out; CAR-20 unavailable so cannot assess pre-announcement price positioning
The H2 FY2026 update is where the market will test whether the R58.8m operating cash improvement is repeatable or reflects a one-off working capital release that reverses in the second half.
Evidence from the filing
Core EPS deteriorated from a 0.09c loss to a 6.65c loss, with the headline EPS halving partly cushioned by biological asset fair value gains rather than reflecting underlying operational strength.
“Core earnings(3) per share deteriorated from a loss of 0,09 cents to a loss of 6,65 cents”
EPS more than halved to 15.13c with no dividend declared, leaving shareholders with no return support on a restated prior period base.
“Earnings per share decreased from 32,22 cents(2) to 15,13 cents”
Net debt stands at R560m; the leverage ratio may have risen due to the EBITDA collapse, though the filing does not disclose covenant headroom or refinancing schedule.
“Net debt stands at R560 million”
The condensed announcement does not provide segment-level EBITDA detail, limiting visibility into which operations drove the decline.
“Adjusted EBITDA(1) decreased by R36,8 million to R47,5 million”
Cash generated from operations of R104.5m is a 128.7% increase from R45.7m, landing inside the 127–132% guidance band as updated on 20 March 2026.
“Cash generated from operations increased by R58,8 million to R104,5 million”
More on York Timber Holdings Limited
Related filings
More from YRK
- YORK TIMBER HOLDINGS LIMITED - Trading statement and trading update, including notification of the unbundling of certain assets
- YORK TIMBER HOLDINGS LIMITED - Appointment of permanent chief executive officer
- YORK TIMBER HOLDINGS LIMITED - Dealings in securities by a director
- YORK TIMBER HOLDINGS LIMITED - Appointment of interim chief executive officer
- YORK TIMBER HOLDINGS LIMITED - Resignation of chief executive officer
Other Results
- CHPCHOPPIES ENTERPRISES LIMITED - Audited Group financial results for the year ended 30 June 2026
- SACSA CORPORATE REAL ESTATE LIMITED - Unaudited condensed consolidated interim financial results for the six months ended 30 June 2026 and cash dividend declaration
- BANK WINDHOEK LIMITED - Publication of annual financial statements for the year ended 30 June 2026
- MTMMOMENTUM GROUP LIMITED - Annual results for the year ended 30 June 2026, dividend declaration and availability of annual financial statements
- PANPAN AFRICAN RESOURCES PLC - Summarised Audited Results for the year ended 30 June 2026, Record Annual Gold Production, Record Cash Dividend Proposed, Share Buy-Back Programme and Board Changes