THE FOSCHINI GROUP LIMITED - Trading update for the 21 weeks ended 22 August 2026
What this filing means
A mixed trading update that lands on a share already trading near its 52-week low. Group sales grew just 0.2% in ZAR (2.0% constant currency) to R23 billion, with TFG Africa up 3.4% and TFG London up 2.3% in GBP, but TFG Australia fell 4.7% in AUD in what management calls the toughest trading environment. The standout is online: group online sales grew 15.3% and now contribute 15.9% of total sales, with TFG Africa's Bash platform surging 54.1%. The outlook remains cautious, with a further c.80 store closures projected for FY2027.
TFG is a retailer with three main businesses: South Africa, London and Australia. South Africa is doing okay — sales up 3.4% and online growing fast — and London is holding up. But Australia is struggling, with sales down nearly 5%. The company is closing unprofitable stores and keeping debt under control. For a normal person, this reads as a company managing a tough environment rather than one growing strongly.
Bull case
- Group online penetration stepped up to 15.9% from 13.8%, with TFG Africa online surging +54.1% on the Bash platform — a structural mix shift toward digital, though margin contribution by channel is not disclosed.
- Disciplined portfolio action — 85 unviable TFG Africa stores closed vs 25 opened — is expected to enhance profitability and return on capital per the filing, while net debt is forecast broadly flat with covenants met, indicating balance-sheet stability.
- Group sales grew 2.0% in constant currency versus 0.2% in ZAR, as GBP weakness reduced reported ZAR translation of London sales. Constant-currency growth signals underlying demand resilience despite FX translation headwinds.
- TFG Africa accelerated to +3.4% sales growth (LFL +1.5%) and gained 10bps of South African market share per RLC data, taking share in a tough macro.
- TFG London delivered resilient +2.3% GBP sales growth and +3.3% online growth to 41.6% of segment sales despite a weak, promotional UK backdrop.
Bear case
- TFG Australia sales fell 4.7% in AUD (like-for-like -4.1%) in what management calls the "toughest trading environment."
- Tarocash brand repositioning is further compounding TFG Australia's sales pressure.
- Group plans c.80 TFG Africa store closures in FY2027 plus c.100 in each of the next two years — signalling underlying store-portfolio weakness.
- TFG Africa credit sales contracted 2.5% and their share fell to 26.0% from 27.5%, pointing to discretionary spending stress.
AI-generated summary by SENS-AI, based on the original JSE SENS filing.
SENS-AI conclusion
A two-tier result: TFG Africa and TFG London are holding up, while TFG Australia is deteriorating. The online momentum is genuine and the store-closure programme is disciplined, but the cautious outlook and the Australian drag cap the enthusiasm. The share had already sold off 13% into the print and sits near its 52-week low, so the bad news is partly reflected — but this filing does not provide a fresh catalyst to re-rate the name. So what: the market still needs evidence that the store closures and online mix shift translate into margin and return-on-capital improvement at the interim results.
The interim results will show whether the store-closure programme and online mix shift have actually improved group margin and return on capital.
Evidence from the filing
Group online penetration stepped up to 15.9% from 13.8%, with TFG Africa online surging +54.1% on the Bash platform — a structural mix shift toward digital, though margin contribution by channel is not disclosed.
“Group online sales grew by 15,3%, now contributing 15,9% to total sales (prior period: 13,8%)”
Disciplined portfolio action — 85 unviable TFG Africa stores closed vs 25 opened — is expected to enhance profitability and return on capital per the filing, while net debt is forecast broadly flat with covenants met, indicating balance-sheet stability.
“85 stores, which were no longer economically viable, were closed during the current period. 25 new stores were opened during the current period”
Group sales grew 2.0% in constant currency versus 0.2% in ZAR, as GBP weakness reduced reported ZAR translation of London sales. Constant-currency growth signals underlying demand resilience despite FX translation headwinds.
“Group sales grew by 0,2% (2,0% in constant currency) to R23 billion”
TFG Africa accelerated to +3.4% sales growth (LFL +1.5%) and gained 10bps of South African market share per RLC data, taking share in a tough macro.
“Market share gains in South Africa of 10 basis points ('bps') were achieved during the period April to July 2026, according to the latest Retail Liaison Committee ("RLC") data”
TFG London delivered resilient +2.3% GBP sales growth and +3.3% online growth to 41.6% of segment sales despite a weak, promotional UK backdrop.
“Year to date sales growth was resilient and increased by 2,3% in GBP (like-for-like sales: 1,8%)”
TFG Australia sales fell 4.7% in AUD (like-for-like -4.1%) in what management calls the "toughest trading environment."
“TFG Australia (AUD) — (4,7%)”
Tarocash brand repositioning is further compounding TFG Australia's sales pressure.
“TFG Australia is currently facing the toughest trading environment, with sales further impacted by the repositioning of the Tarocash brand”
Group plans c.80 TFG Africa store closures in FY2027 plus c.100 in each of the next two years — signalling underlying store-portfolio weakness.
“a further projected c.80 stores are likely to fall within closure parameters during FY2027, and a further c.100 stores during each of the following two financial years”
TFG Africa credit sales contracted 2.5% and their share fell to 26.0% from 27.5%, pointing to discretionary spending stress.
“Credit sales contracted by 2,5%, contributing 26,0% (prior period: 27,5%) of total sales”
More on The Foschini Group Limited
Related filings
More from TFG
- THE FOSCHINI GROUP LIMITED - Dealing in securities by the companys share incentive scheme
- THE FOSCHINI GROUP LIMITED - Notice of annual general meeting, availability of reporting suite and B-BBEE compliance report
- THE FOSCHINI GROUP LIMITED - Dealings in securities by an executive director and the company secretary
- THE FOSCHINI GROUP LIMITED - Changes to the TFG Board and Board Committees
- THE FOSCHINI GROUP LIMITED - Availability of annual financial statements and no change statement
Other Trading Update
- FTAFAIRVEST LIMITED - Fairvest pre-close and operational update
- CACCAFCA LIMITED - Trading Update for the 3rd quarter ended 30 June 2026
- DIBDIPULA PROPERTIES LIMITED - Pre-close business update for the year ending 31 August 2026
- PIKPICK N PAY STORES LIMITED - Trading update for the 20 weeks ended 19 July 2026
- TKGTELKOM SA SOC LIMITED - Trading update for the first quarter ended 30 June 2026